CopyRight.. not so right

Just when I thought I had the copyright rules and processes under control I encountered a copyright breach :-/  Another subjects assignment that I am working on requires me to create an online multimodal presentation that extends on my current ICT abilities. I decided to challenge myself with creating a Glogster– an online interactive poster or in my case a pin-board. Glogster requires any videos embedded to be processed through either YouTube or Vimeo, I am a newbie at YouTube and Vimeo is completely foreign to me so I decided to try YouTube. As I thoroughly enjoyed using Animoto in my ICT assignment I couldn’t go past adding one to my Glogster. So…. I created an Animoto along with background music that is free to use on Animoto. Given that Animoto has a direct link to then publish creations on YouTube I assumed that all copyright restrictions were taken care of. A few clicks and I had a YouTube published Animoto in my Glogster. But alas the next day while working on my Glogster my Animoto displayed the message ‘RESTRICTED’. I was quite surprised when I went into my YouTube account to discover my movie had been restricted due to breach of copyright with the music!
My solution: Initially I removed the music on my clip and replaced it with music from the freely available collection on YouTube that claims to be ‘ok’ for use however 24 hours later and the changes weren’t there yet and I still had a restricted clip. Plan B: I decided to remove the clip of YouTube, I also removed the ‘copyright’ music from my Animoto clip and added music from ‘Purple Planet- Royalty free music’. I then signed up to Vimeo and uploaded the clip there. So far everything seems to be now working. Fingers crossed it stays that way!

One thought on “CopyRight.. not so right

  1. Pingback: The journey

Leave a comment